Monday, June 6, 2011

Senate Committee recommends Commissioner Dixon

The Utah Senate Revenue and Taxation Confirmation Committee unanimously recommended Commissioner D'Arcy Dixon Pignanelli to a second 4-year term to the Utah State Tax Commission.
Senators Curtis Bramble, Howard Stephenson, Benjamin McAdams and Wayne Niederhauser voted to send Commissioner Dixon Pignanelli's name to the full State Senate for confirmation.
Commissioner Dixon Pignanelli was originally appointed to fill the unexpired term of Palmer DePaulis in March 2006. She was appointed to her first 4-year term in 2007.
She was praised by the Senate committee for her independence in applying the rule of law on her tax decisions.
Commission Chair Bruce Johnson complimented his fellow commissioner for her independence and also for her determination to implement the redaction program on the Tax Commission website.
To provide general guidance for taxpayers, under Commissioner Dixon Pignanelli's direction, the Tax Commission redacts confidential information from orders involving statutory interpretation, substantive case law and new or complex issues and posts them on the website.
Senator Bramble noted that the committee had received several letters of recommendation from business and taxpayer groups advocating Commissioner Dixon Pignanelli's reappointment to the Commission. Commissioner Dixon Pignanelli previously served as the director of Administrative Services and has a career in serving in both the public and private sectors.

No comments:

Post a Comment